Skip Navigation

Core Competencies

The Core Competencies for Early Childhood and Youth Development Professionals (Kansas and Missouri) were developed by Child Care Aware of Kansas, OPEN Initiative, Missouri AfterSchool Network, and the Kansas Enrichment Network.

The Core Competencies set quality standards for child care and school age professionals. The competencies guide professional development and training efforts across the state, including Links to Quality.

See the Core Competencieslaunch

8 Content Areas

The Core Competencies are organized into eight content areas to help professionals meet the needs of children and youth.

  • Child and Youth Growth and Development
  • Learning Environment and Curriculum
  • Observation and Assessment
  • Families and Communities
  • Health and Safety
  • Interactions with Children and Youth
  • Program Planning and Development
  • Professional Development and Leadership

5 Levels

The five levels of competency skills range from beginning to advanced. The levels are designed to be cumulative. Depending on a professional’s role, they may have varying levels in different content areas.

What’s next?

Work is currently being done through Kansas Child Care Training Opportunities (KCCTO) to revise and adopt new Core Competencies for the state. When work is finalized, more information will be shared.